District 41 Elgin was formed in 1989. It was part of RTOERO long before in various forms. District 41 extends east to Straffordville and west to Rodney.

Our members include those who work in and retire from education – including child care and early years, schools and school boards, post-secondary, private schools and more. We play a key role in helping members stay active and connected – with each other and the community.

District 41 is situated on the traditional territory of the Anishnabek, Haudenosaunee (Iroquois) and Ojibway/Chippewa peoples. We recognize this territory is covered by the Upper Canada Treaties. We also acknowledge the urban Indigenous communities in our district.

District 41 Elgin recognizes the inequities connected to colonization and commits to working towards creating a just, inclusive and vibrant community for all. We invite our members to reflect the Truth and Reconciliation Commission’s calls to action.


Members and growing

District 41 Elgin President

Scott Shakir

District 41 Elgin Executive

Name Role Email
Scott Shakir President
Deborah Rosebrugh First Vice-President
Carol Gagen Secretary
Dennis Collins Treasurer
Diane Herter Member Services Coordinator
Lorna Macpherson Goodwill Rep
Suzanna Jobse-Obeda Newsletter Editor
Christine Rainsforth Newsletter Editor
Anne Smith-Bartolozzi Health Benefits Representative
Dave Giles PAC Rep
Diane Herter PAC Rep
Gordon Park Web Master
Scott Shakir Corporate Member 1
Deborah Rosebrugh Corporate Member 2
John Laverty Alternate 1
Suzanna Jobse-Obeda Alternate 2
Frances Wren Community Grant Rep
John Laverty Governance
Scott Shakir Social Media Rep
Frances Wren RPW Organizer

Learn more about RTOERO

Not a member yet?

Join today! Membership is free until retirement.